waipa-water-storm-drain_620x240.jpg​​We currently have over 151km of primary and secondary stormwater reticulation in our district. 

Primary stormwater includes pipes, culverts, soak holes and channels designed to minimise flooding by collecting and discharging stormwater into streams and other water courses. 

Secondary stormwater includes overland flow paths through private property and along roadways to divert excess stormwater with minimum damage when the primary system is overloaded.

We also have over 240km of unlined open drainage channels regarded as 'public drains'​​ that help form our district's land drainage system, along with larger natural water courses. 

Stormwater discharge into waterways is regulated by Waikato Regional Council resource consents. The water discharged is not treated but is closely monitored to ensure the protection of our water catchments. 

Stormwater network 

Council’s water infrastructure map

Maps Online​ is a mapping system that allows you to view geographic information and data about Council's water, wastewater and st​​ormwater infrastructure around the district. ​Open Maps Online and then select the ‘Utilities’ module at the top left hand of the window.

Connections to Council supply

If you require a connection to Council's water supply, an application form will need to be filled out and lodged with Council, along with the payment of appropriate charges.

Land drainage

We provide a regulatory and advisory service in relation to these channels, and the majority of work funded directly by landowners.

An exception to this is where we have resource consents, historic agreements in place, or flood protection that requires active involvement.

These exceptions include:

  • ​Te Kawa Drainage Area - Administered by Otorohanga District.  Council is committed to meeting its share of works in the small area inside Waipa District
  • Puniu River - Committed to maintenance of willow re-growth
  • Mangapiko - Committed to stream channel works to prevent flooding in the Te Awamutu urban area
  • Lake Ngāroto - Resource consent for control of lake level for recreational use
  • The Rotomanuku, Fencourt and Hautapu drainage areas in the District are controlled by Waikato Regional Council.  

​Stormwater p​ollution

Stormwater drains aren’t wastewater drains. Only clear, unpolluted rainwater should enter stormwater drains as water flows untreated into our rivers, lakes and streams. 

If pollutants get into the stormwater drains they will enter our natural environment and potentially harm our wildlife, and people’s health. Do your part by keeping chemicals and pollutants out of stormwater drains – this includes oil, mud, paint, chemicals and rubbish. 

Stormwater bylaw

View the latest bylaw documents: Bylaws

Page reviewed: 23 Aug 2017 12:00pm