Representation review

​What's a representation review?

What's a representation review?

In 2019, we will hold Local G​​overnment elections  - this is when we vote for a mayor, councillors, and community board members. ​​

Every six years we are required to review our representation arrangements - this is where we look at the structure of our elected members and how they are elected. Specifically, a representation review looks at:

  • How many councillors there should be
  • How many wards we should have
  • How many councillors should there be in each ward (it is important to try and achieve approximately equal numbers of voters per councillor)
  • Should we have Community Boards, and if so, how many members should they have, which areas should each cover?
  • Should Council create a Maori ward?
  • Which electoral system should we use? 

We completed our representation review in 2017, which will apply to the 2019 and 2022 local government elections. The representation review results are below.

Council resolved on 25 September 2018 to adopt its initial representation arrangement proposal as its final proposal. The final proposal is as follows:​

a. Waipa District Council comprises the Mayor elected at large; plus 13 councillors elected  under the ward system; plus two Community Boards electing a total of 11 members.

b. Waipa District Council be divided into 5 wards being the existing wards comprising the areas delineated on SO 58027 deposited with Land Information New Zealand:

                i.              Cambridge Ward electing 5 councillors;​

                ii.             Kakepuku Ward electing 1 councillor;

                iii.            Maungatautari Ward electing 1 councillor;

                iv.            Pirongia Ward electing 2 councillors;

                v.             Te Awamutu Ward electing 4 councillors.

c.              There being 2 Community Boards, these being:

        ​        i.               Cambridge Community Board electing 5 members from the Cambridge Ward and 1                       member from the Maungatautari Ward, plus 1 councillor appointed from the Cambridge Ward                    and 1 councillor appointed from the Maungatautari Ward;

                ii.             Te Awamutu Community Board electing 4 members from the Te Awamutu Ward and 1                  member from the Kakepuku Ward, plus 1 councillor appointed from the Te Awamutu Ward and                  1 councillor appointed from the Kakepuku Ward.

More information about this resolution can be found here.

Council voted to keep the First Past the Post voting system rather than change to the Single Transferable Vote (this is used by Waikato Regional Council).​

Council also decided not to establish a Māori ward. Media release - Māori ward rejected​​

Page reviewed: 27 May 2019 12:32pm