​​It's electi​on time!

2019 is a local authority election year. This is your chance to choose your representation for Waipa District Council for the next three years. You will also vote for Waikato Regional Council representation.​

2019 Elected representatives​

Following the close of nominations at 12 noon, Friday 16 August, the following members were elected unopposed for Council for the next three years. Congratulations to the following elected members:

  • Mayor Jim Mylchreest
  • Pirongia Ward councillors Clare St Pierre and Bruce Thomas
  • Kakepuku Ward councillor Susan O'Regan
  • Maungatautari Ward councillor Elwyn Andree-Wiltens
  • Maungatautari subdivision of Cambridge community board Mike Montgomerie
  • Te Awamutu subdivision for Te Awamutu community board Gary Derbyshire, Angela Holt, Richard Hurrell and Jill Taylor.
For Waipa district representation on Waikato Regional Council, the following member was also elected unopposed:
  • Ngā Tai Ki Uta Māori constituency Kataraina Hodge

2019 elections

The full list of candidates is available here.​ In this year's local elections, voting papers will be sent out in the Waipā district for:

  • Cambridge Ward councillors
  • Te Awamutu Ward councillors
  • Cambridge subdivision for Cambridge community board 
  • Kakepuku subdivision for Te Awamutu community board​ 
  • Waikato Regional Council - Waipā-King Country general constituency

Candidate informati​​​on

Click h​ere​ for candidate information including handbook, FAQs and remuneration.

First time vo​​ti​​ng or not sure how to vote? 

Click h​ere to find out more about voting in the 2019 elections. You must enrol by Friday 16 August to be on the published roll. You must apply for a special vote if you enrol after this date.

Why shou​ld I vote?​

Elected members can make decisions that impact Waipā residents on a daily basis; including roads, parks and reserves, toilets, dogs, town planning, wastewater, stormwater and water supply (plus a whole lot more!). The local elections is your opportunity to make sure your views are represented in those that are elected.

Not sure​​​ what Council does? 

Take a tiki tour and find out! www.waipatikitour.co.nz


Key c​​​​o​​ntacts

Electoral Officer

Warwick Lampp
3/3 Pukaki Road
Christchurch 8042
New Zealand
021 498 517

Deputy Electoral Officer

Jo Gread
07 872 0080​​

Page reviewed: 19 Aug 2019 12:26pm