​​​Chief Executive Performance Committee

Chair: Mayor Jim Mylchreest

Membership: Mayor Jim Mylchreest, Deputy Mayor Grahame Webber and Councillor Bruce Thomas

Meeting frequency: As required 

Purpose: To conduct the reviews of the performance of Council’s chief Executive and make recommendations to Council.

District Licensing Committee

Commissioner: Sara Grayson

Membership: Deputy Chair Councillor Marcus Gower, Members: Mr Ross Murphy, Ms Patsi Davies, Dr Michael Cameron, Mr Roy Johnson

Meeting frequency: As required

Purpose: To consider and determine applications for licences, managers certificates, renewal of licences and managers certificates, temporary authorities and other matters pursuant to section 187 of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

Executive Committee

Chairperson: Mayor Jim Mylchreest

Membership: Mayor Jim Mylchreest, Deputy Mayor Grahame Webber, Councillor Liz Stolwyk, Councillor Andrew Brown and Councillor Bruce Thomas

Meeting frequency: As required

Purpose: To make decisions on urgent matters arising between scheduled Council meetings or on specific matters referred to it by Council.

Finance and Corporate Committee

Chairperson: Councillor Andrew Brown

Membership: Full Council

Meeting frequency: Monthly

Purpose: To undertake Council’s corporate and governance functions specifically in relation to financial and non-financial reporting, financial and treasury policies and arrangements, insurance arrangements, property management and Council Controlled Organisations.

Maungatautari Reserve Committee

Chairperson: Councillor Andree-Wiltens

His Worship the Mayor J Mylchreest
Cr GRP Webber
T Tauroa (Ngāti Koroki Kahukura – Pohara Marae and landowner representative)
T Clarke (Ngāti Koroki Kahukura – Maungatautari Marae)
P Davies (Ngāti Koroki Kahukura – MEIT and Pohara Marae)
Fred Haimona (Ngāti Haua)
S Kneebone (Waikato Regional Council)
Melissa Sinton (Acting General Manager, Maungatautari Ecological Island Trust)
Ray Scrimgeour (Department of Conservation)
Parawera Marae – representative to be appointed
Adjoining landowners – two representatives to be appointed

Meeting frequency: Bi-monthly

Purpose: To facilitate effective and meaningful communication between Council, Tangata Whenua, the Maungatautari Ecological Island Trust (MEIT), the Department of Conservation and the public in relation to the Maungatautari Scenic Reserve. To advise Council on all reserve management issues, as they relate to the reserve, the MEIT project, and the administrative requirements of the Reserves Act 1977. To oversee the services for MEIT for day-to-day management of the enclosures and to oversee the Reserve Management Plan for the reserve.

Pirongia Ward Committee

Chairperson: Councillor Clare St Pierre

Membership: Councillor Clare St Pierre, Councillor Bruce Thomas, and further representatives to be confirmed from the Te Pahu, Pirongia and Ohaupo Resident and Ratepayers Associations, and from Te Kauhanganui o Waikato, and from the Purekireki Marae Committee.

Meeting frequency: Quarterly or as required

Purpose: To allocate funds, to consider the draft annual plan and to perform similar representative functions as the community boards.

Regulatory Committee

Chairperson: Councillor Bruce Thomas

Membership: Councillor Marcus Gower, Councillor Bruce Thomas, Councillor Clare St Pierre, Councillor Liz Stolwyck and Poto Davies as a representative from Nga Iwi Toopu O Waipa

Meeting frequency: Monthly or as required

Purpose: To manage the regulatory aspects of Council’s business, in particular in relation to the Resource Management Act 1991.

Service Delivery Committee

Chairperson: Deputy Mayor Grahame Webber

Membership: Full Council

Meeting frequency: Monthly

Purpose: To have responsibility for overseeing Council’s infrastructure work programme, asset management planning and levels of service in relation to the service delivery areas of the Road Corridor, Road Asset Technical Accord, Water Services, Community Facilities and Heritage and Museums, including the consideration of regional integration of services.

Strategic Planning and Policy Committee

Chairperson: Councillor Liz Stolwyk

Membership: Mayor Jim Mylchreest, Deputy Mayor Grahame Webber and Councillor Elwyn Andree-Wiltens, Councillor Judy Bannon, Councillor Hazel Barnes, Councillor Andrew Brown, Councillor Marcus Gower, Councillor Sue Milner, Councillor Susan O’Regan, Councillor Clare St Pierre, Councillor Liz Stolwyk, Councillor Bruce Thomas and Councillor Vern Wilson,  and Poto Davies as a representative from Nga Iwi Toopu O Waipa.

Meeting frequency: To be confirmed

Purpose: To oversee the development and review of Council’s plans (including long term and annual plans), bylaws, strategies and policies and where appropriate, to act as Council’s hearings committee for consultation submissions in relation to these; and to exercise certain Council powers under the Resource Management Act 1991 in relation to the District Plan, plan chances and variations.

Waipa Iwi Consultative Committee

Chairperson: To be confirmed


  • Mayor Jim Mylchreest
  • Deputy Mayor Grahame Webber
  • Chairperson of the Strategic Planning & Policy Committee - Councillor Liz Stolwyk
  • Chairperson of the Finance & Corporate Committee - Councillor Andrew Brown
  • Chairperson of the Service Delivery Committee - Councillor Grahame Webber
  • Chairperson of the Regulatory Committee - Councillor Bruce Thomas
  • The Chief Executive
  • Waikato Tainui Trust Board – representative to be advised
  • Raukawa Settlement Trust – representative to be advised
  • Maniapoto Trust Board – representative to be advised
  • Nga Iwi Toopu o Waipa Chairperson – Gaylene Roberts
  • Proxy for Gaylene Roberts – Hazel Wander
  • Kaumatua – Jim Keremeta
  • Wharepuhunga – Katarina Hodge
  • Ngati Haua – Chris Riki
  • Purekireki – Haupai Puke
  • Puniu – Harold Maniapoto
  • Proxy for Harold Maniapoto – Val Ingley
  • Te Kopua (Kakepuku) – Doris Walters
  • Kaniwhaniwha – Rangiuia Riki
  • Maungatautari – Josephine Taute
  • Proxy for Josephine Taute – Poto Davies
  • Ngati Ngawaero – George Serancke
  • Ngati Hikairo – Hano Ormsby
  • Proxy for Hano Ormsby – Jane Anderson

Meeting frequency: To be confirmed

Purpose: To facilitate communications between Council and Tangata Whenua. The Committee will consider any matter impacting on the interests of Tangata Whenua including but not limited to historical, cultural, recreational, health, housing, environmental and resource management. The Committee will advise Council and the various Iwi on Treaty of Waitangi implications for policies and activities of Council.

Info on Māori involvement in decision making. ​

Audit and Risk Committee 

Chairperson: Councillor Clare St Pierre

Membership: Mayor Jim Mylchreest, Councillors Judy Bannon, Andrew Brown, Susan O’Regan, Claire St Pierre and Vern Wilson, and Bruce Robertson of Morrison Low

Meeting frequency: Quarterly

Purpose: To provide independent assurance and assistance to the Waipa District Council on Council’s risk, control and compliance framework, and its external accountability responsibilities.

District Promotion Fund

Committee members are Mayor Jim Mylchreest, Councillors Clare St Pierre, Susan O’Regan, Sue Milner and Liz Stolwyk, plus community representatives Mervyn Gyde and Kevin Burgess.​

Page reviewed: 13 Jul 2018 10:12am