Current representation arrangements to be retained

26 September 2012
Waipa District Council will retain its current representation arrangements for the next two local body elections.
The decision comes following the hearings of submissions by the council’s Strategic Planning and Policy Committee and means that the five wards their names and boundaries will not change for the 2013 and 2016 elections.
While some submitters called for a change in ward system, others supported the status quo and it was decided the current ward system broadly acknowledged five ‘communities of interest’ within the district.
It also meets the fair representation requirements under the Local Electoral Act that seeks to ensure each councillor represents the same number of people, plus or minus 10 percent.
This means there will continue to be four councillors elected to represent Te Awamutu and Cambridge, two representing Pirongia and one councillor each elected on behalf of the Maungatautari and Kakepuku wards.
The Mayor will continue to be elected by the whole district and community boards will be retained.
Submitters to the initial proposal and anyone who objects to the final decision may lodge an appeal with the council.
Any appeals or objections will be considered by the Local Government Commission.
For further information contact
Lisa Nairne
Senior Communications Advisor
Ph: 07 872 0062 or 027 532 1760
Page reviewed: 18 Apr 2017 1:07pm