Little change to council committees

29 November 2016

Waipa District Council has made little change to its committee structure for the coming term.

Today’s meeting saw Te Awamutu ward councillor Andrew Brown reappointed chair of the Finance and Corporate Committee. Pirongia ward councillor Bruce Thomas was reappointed chair of the Regulatory Committee with fellow Pirongia councillor Clare St Pierre reappointed chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.

The Strategic Planning and Policy Committee is now chaired by Cambridge ward councillor Liz Stolwyk.  It is anticipated this Committee will appoint as a sub-committee, a District Promotions Committee.  The District Promotions Committee will include community representatives and allocate funds to events in the district.

The Service Delivery Committee  continues to be chaired by deputy mayor Grahame Webber. It is anticipated the Service Delivery committee will appoint a new Three Waters sub-committee to oversee the renewal and monitoring of water consents held by the Council. This will be an advisory committee only.

The Council has not appointed a Heritage Committee. Any policies in the heritage, arts and biodiversity areas will be developed by the Strategic Planning and Policy Committee with any associated projects or activities to be overseen by that Committee. Council may  establish working groups for specific projects.

Read more: Membership of all Council committees

Media enquiries, contact Jeanette Tyrrell (on behalf of council) 027 507 7599

Page reviewed: 29 Nov 2016 2:41pm