Te Ara Wai now official

26/02/2019 2:00 p.m.

​26 February 2019 

Council has changed the name of the committee overseeing the Waipā​ Discovery Centre to reflect its official name – Te Ara Wai.

The Te Ara Wai Governance Committee (formerly known as the Waipā Discovery Centre Governance Committee) is made up of four Māori with expertise in tourism, Māoritanga, museums and Māori business plus Waipā mayor Jim Mylchreest and three Waipā district councillors. The Committee is chaired by LeeAnn Muntz, a director of Aotearoa Experience and chair of Tainui Waka Tourism. 

In its 10-year plan last year, Waipā District Council allocated $7.2 million for Te Ara Wai and a further $3.6 million to further preserve and enhance Waipā’s historical sites, including New Zealand Land Wars sites. 

When complete, Te Ara Wai will sit alongside the Te Awamutu library and will include ever-changing exhibition space, new and better space to house and showcase Waipā’s unique collection of taonga, stories that connect to significant locations in the district, a research centre, a hub for school and education programmes, the Te Awamutu i-SITE and a community gathering space.

To keep up to date with the Te Ara Wai project, sign up to receive e-newsletters at waipadc.govt.nz/TeAraWai

Page reviewed: 26 Feb 2019 2:10pm