Ten candidates elected unopposed

19/08/2019 2:00 p.m.

​​​Ten candidates have been elected unopposed to Waipa District Council with the remaining nine councillors and six community board vacancies to be decided by voters later this year.

In total, 46 nominations were received for 25 Waipa District Council positions. 

Jim Mylchreest has been elected unopposed as mayor of Waipā district, Clare St Pierre and Bruce Thomas were re-elected unopposed as Pirongia Ward councillors, Elwyn Andree-Wiltens was re-elected unopposed as Maungatautari Ward councillor and Susan O’Regan was re-elected unopposed as Kakepuku Ward councillor.

New community board representation comes in the form of Mike Montgomerie for the Maungatautari subdivision on the Cambridge community board, and Jill Taylor for Te Awamutu subdivision of Te Awamutu community board. Gary Derbyshire, Angela Holt and Richard Hurrell were re-elected unopposed for Te Awamutu subdivision of Te Awamutu Community Board.

Four Te Awamutu Ward councillor positions will be hotly contested with 13 candidates running for election later this year. They are: Hazel Barnes, Andrew Brown, Lou Brown, Michael Emery, Bernhard Fynn, Marcus Gower, Bill Izard, James Charles Morris Parlane, Dennis Pennefather, Craig Sanders, Cassidy Temese, Bernard Westerbaan, and John Wood.

Twelve candidates have put their hand up for Cambridge Ward councillor to be voted on later this year. They are: Les Bennett, Philip Coles, Poto Davies, Dennis Finn, Ron Geck, Roger Gordon, Steve Grounds, Greg Keyte, Mike Pettit, Don Sanders, Liz Stolwyk and Grahame Webber.

Five Cambridge community board positions will also be decided later this year from nine candidates running. They are: Elise Badger, Les Bennett, Philip Coles, Jo Davies-Colley, Jim Goddin, Roger Gordon, Alana MacKay, Sue Milner and Don Sanders.

Voting for Cambridge and Te Awamutu Ward councillors and Cambridge subdivision of the Cambridge community board and Kakepuku subdivision of the Te Awamutu community board will open on Friday 20 September 2019 and will close at 12 noon on Saturday 12 October 2019. For some in Waipā district, voting papers will only be for Waikato Regional Council. For more information on voting, visit waipadc.govt.nz/elections. 

Page reviewed: 19 Aug 2019 4:17pm