Our significant sites

In its 10-Year Plan 2018-2028, Council confirmed it would invest an additional $3.6 million in Waipā's significant cultural and ecological sites.

Te Ara Wai - Journeys

Filming is now underway to capture local stories that celebrate Waipā’s heritage. A new website will host the videos plus other digital content to take users on an interactive journey through Waipā’s heritage sites. Phase one will showcase Karāpiro, Lake Ngāroto and Pirongia township, with the site to launch in August 2019.  

​Council’s heritage and museum manager Tony Roxburgh said the website will be created in both English and Te Reo and will help locals and visitors explore some of Waipā’s significant sites.  

“Council and local iwi are working together to tell the stories of our district. Local people are contributing to the videos and through the filming we’re already learning things about Waipā we didn’t know before.”

Local story tellers contributing so far, include historian Alan Hall, archaeologist Alexy Simmons, Rāhui Papa of Ngāti Koroki Kahukura, Haupai Puke of Pūrekireki Marae, Rovina Maniapoto of Ngāti Paretekawa and Council’s iwi relations advisors Shane Te Ruki and Chuck Davis. 

The website will guide visitors to each historical site from the nearest town. Once at the site, interpretive signage will allow visitors to follow the stories via their mobile device. As well as the videos the website will contain graphic novels, audio clips, infographics and maps.

“Eventually Te Ara Wai​ will be the central hub for these sites where visitors can come and view artefacts in the Museum collection that relate to the stories they’ve learnt about,” Roxburgh said. “But there is plenty of work to do before then to ensure the many Waipā stories are better told to a national and international audience.”

Phase one of the work is being completed by consultancy firm Locales which has worked on similar projects including the Rangihoua Heritage Park in Northland and The Waikato War Experience locally.​

Caption: Filming underway with Rāhui Papa at Karāpiro. 
Filming underway with Rāhui Papa at Karāpiro. ​

Our plan for the next 10 years

We are home to many significant sites right across the district. These include ecological sites (for example Mt Pirongia, Maungatautari, Kakepuku, Lake Ngāroto, and Yarndley’s Bush), significant New Zealand Land Wars sites (for example Alexandra Redoubt, Rangioawhia, Te Tiki O Te Ihingarangi and Ōrākau) as well 10 category-one heritage buildings and a further 52 category-two heritage buildings. Many of these sites are managed by Council and others are managed by community groups.

Over the next 10 years we have budgeted $3.6 million above our existing maintenance costs to go towards developing and protecting key sites across the district.

The investment will go towards interpretative signage, creating better entranceways and improving public facilities, such as toilets. We will also focus on providing digital solutions that will guide locals and visitors and interpret key sites and features as they move through the district and visit specific locations.

We will focus on six key zones over the next 10 years which include:

  • ​Ngāroto
  • Karā​piro/Cambridge
  • Maungatautari
  • Pirongia
  • Rangiaowhia
  • Kakepuku 

​The heritage sites located in these zones are our priority as they offer the most opportunity and diversity from a visitor and tourism perspective.

Page reviewed: 04 Dec 2018 8:19am