3.1.7 Te Awamutu Walk of Fame



Te Awamutu Walk of Fame

Policy Objective	To recognise Te Awamutu outstanding achievers.				
Policy	The Te Awamutu Walk of Fame recognises outstanding achievers, and is located in Selwyn Park, Te Awamutu.				
	The following criteria and eligibility criteria be used to determine inductees for Te Awamutu Outstanding Achievers to be acknowledged in the Te Awamutu Walk of Fame:				
	Consider outstanding achievers who are well known nationally and achieved international recognition.				
	 Consider only elite people who have achieved at the highest senior levels, i.e. not junior or age group championships. 				
	 Born and lived in Te Awamutu or its environs, or Achieved "outstanding achiever" status while residing in Te Awamutu or its environs. 				
	 Invite those meeting the above residency criteria to answer in the affirmative "Do they consider themselves a Te Awamutu person?". 				
	A working group comprising five members being the Mayor or Deputy Mayor, Te Awamutu Board Chair or nominee, a Councillor and two community members to be appointed by the Mayor and Chair of the Community Board. From time to time others may be co-opted to the committee for their specific industry expertise.				
	The term of the committee members will be between three and five years (except for the Mayor and Community Board Chair) with staggered replacement times to ensure continuity of knowledge. This committee needs to have secretarial support to ensure the decisions are recorded and the reasons transparent.				
	That the working group remain active to ensure high achievers are identified and presented to Council for approval.				
Linkages/References					
Department	Planning and Community Relationships				
Last Reviewed/ Resolution	28 th September 2010				
Container					
Notes					